• 24/7 Support
  • Listen, Validate, Support, Advocate!
  • Monthly Newsletter
Home » Stages & Types

Stages Of Endometriosis

There are 4 stages of endometriosis and determining which stage you have  is based upon the exact location, extent and depth of the endometriosis implants as well as the presence and severity of scar tissue and the presence and size of endometrial implants in the ovaries. Not all Doctors use stages so please do not worry if you do not know your stage. It is also important to mention that stages don't determine levels of pain as people with stage I can have debilitating pain where as people with stage IV have been known to have no pain at all.

  • Stage I - Is minimal endometriosis: There are a few small implants or small wounds or lesions. //they may be found on your organs or the tissue lining your pelvis or abdomen. There is little to no scar tissue.
  • Stage II - Is mild endometriosis: There are more implants than in stage 1. They're also deeper in the tissue, and there may be some scar tissue.
  • Stage III - Is moderate endometriosis: There are many deep implants. You may also have small cysts on one or both ovaries, and thick bands of scar tissue called adhesions.
  • Stage IV - Is severe endometriosis: This is the most widespread. You may have deep implants and thick adhesions. There are also large cysts on one or both ovaries.

Experts don't know why some people have more severe cases than others. Endometriosis doesn't always go from one stage to the next. If left untreated, it can remain the same over time, or it may get worse or better.

Types Of Endometriosis

There are 4 main types of endometriosis, based on where it is:

  • Superficial peritoneal lesion - This is the most common kind, you have lesions on your peritoneum, a thin film that lines your pelvic cavity.
  • Endometrioma (Ovarian lesion) - These dark, fluid-filled cysts, also known as "chocolate cysts", form deep in your ovaries. They do not respond well to treatment and can damage healthy tissue.
  • Deep infiltrating endometriosis (D.I.E) - When endometriosis tissues are found deep within a tissue or organ, deep infiltrating endometriosis occurs, D.I.E. is quite common. These lesions can be found in the ovaries, rectum, bowels, bladder, rectovaginal septum, cul-de-sac and the uterus, on the uterosacral ligaments and in the extraperitoneal pelvic sites. Sometimes a lot of scar tissue can bond organs so they become stuck in place. This condition is called frozen pelvis, but this only happens in 1% - 5% of people with endometriosis.
  • Abdominal wall endometriosis - In some cases, endometrial tissue can grow on the abdominal wall. The cells may attach to a surgical incision, like one from a C-section.

Endometriosis Is Not Just Periods 

Endometriosis can be found in a lot of places in the body and each has its own diagnosis. These include but aren't limited to:

  • Ovarian Endometriosis
  • Bladder Endometriosis
  • Rectovaginal & Utero-sacral Ligaments Endometriosis
  • Urinary Tract Endometriosis (U.T.E)
  • Gastrointestinal Endometriosis
  • Ureteral Endometriosis
  • Urethra Endometriosis
  • Renal Endometriosis
  • Thoracic & Diaphramic Endometriosis
  • Endometriosis of the Autonomic Nervous System
  • Endometriosis of the Sciatic Nerve
  • Liver Endometriosis
  • Pericardial Endometriosis
  • Umbilical Endometriosis
  • Pancreatic Endometriosis
  • Microscopic Endometriosis